Applications & PermitsBusiness Licenses
How to Apply
You may pick up applications at City Hall during normal operating hours (7:30 AM – 5:30 PM Monday through Thursday, 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM Friday – closed alternating Fridays) or you can download the application (Business License Application). Please submit original signed application with payment to City of Yucaipa Business Licenses, 34272 Yucaipa Blvd., Yucaipa, CA 92399.
Business License Fees
Business license fees shall be paid at the time your Business License Application is submitted to the city. This fee is non-refundable. Your application will be reviewed by the Planning Division and the Business License Division. If your application is approved your Business License will be mailed to you within two weeks. If your application is not approved, or if additional information is needed, you will be contacted within two weeks. The fee schedule is as follows:
- Annual: $67.00 *
- Quarterly: $29.20 *
- Monthly (shortest): $19.75 *
- Transfer Fee: $29.00 *
- Annual renewal: $32.00 *
- 2-Year renewal: $62.00 *
- 3-Year renewal: $92.00 *
- Duplicate License: $5.00
(Asterisk [*] indicates CA ADA compliance fee is included in total.)
Who Needs a Business License?
Any individual, corporation, partnership, or sole proprietor who wishes to conduct business within the City of Yucaipa must secure a business license. City of Yucaipa Municipal Code, Chapter 5.04, states “no person shall conduct any business in the City without first having obtained a business license, paid the appropriate license fee, and complied with any and all applicable provisions of this code”. A separate license is required for each branch or location of the business.
Although the following may be exempt from a City business license fee, they shall apply for and obtain a City business license:
- Disabled American Veterans
- Non-Profit & Charitable Organizations
- Insurance Companies
- Residential Care Facility for Less Than Six People
- Motor Carrier Property Transport
- Day Care Facility for Less Than Six People
Exempt Businesses Please Note: If your business is exempt from the City license fee (i.e. nonprofit, small daycare, etc.), we are still mandated by the State of California to collect a $4.00 ADA Compliance fee in order to issue your license. More information can be found at:
- The Division of the State Architect: www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx
- The Department of Rehabilitation: www.rehab.cahwnet.gov
- The California Commission on Disability Access: www.ccda.ca.gov
Any person claiming an exemption shall file a sworn statement with the Business License Division stating the facts upon which the exemption is claimed. Upon verification of the information in the statement, a license will be issued.
Before You Apply
We want your business to start successfully. Before applying for your business license or making significant business commitments, you may want to contact one of our Business License Division personnel or the planners in the Community Development Department. A City planner can tell you about City zoning requirements for your type of business and any other requirements you need to follow in order to conduct business in the City of Yucaipa. Some businesses may need more than a business license. All businesses must comply with all applicable City, County, State, and Federal laws and regulations. To find out if your business needs further licensing from State or Federal agencies, please contact the Bureau of Consumer Affairs.
Home Occupation Permit
All businesses operated from a residence will be evaluated to ascertain if a Home Occupation Permit is required. Generally a permit would be required if:
- There are customers coming to the residence for products or services
- There is a business sign at the residence
- Manufacturing is conducted at the residence
Posting of Business License
All business licenses shall be posted in a conspicuous place upon the premises where the business is carried on. Any person engaging in business without a fixed place of business shall be in possession of a business license at all times while on such business in the City.
Modification to License
To amend a business name or location, you will need to submit a written request to the Business License Division and pay a minimal fee to cover administrative costs.
Transfer of License
Upon the change of ownership of a business a City business license is transferable subject to the filing of a new application and the paying of a transfer fee.
Business License Renewal
A renewal statement will be mailed out one month prior to the expiration date of your license. License fees are due and payable in advance on the first day of the month following expiration of the original license.
Penalty for Delinquency
Any business that fails to pay the appropriate business license fees when due shall be subject to a penalty of ten percent of the total amount owing, accumulating at 30 day intervals, not to exceed 100 percent of the amount of the license fee due.
Notify the Business License Division if you have closed your business. Your account will remain active until notification is received.
Fictitious Business Name
Generally, a business name that does not include the owners surname would be required to file a fictitious name statement with the County Clerk Division of the Recorder’s office. For more information about a fictitious business name, please contact the County Clerk Division.
State Board of Equalization
You may need to obtain a seller’s permit if you are engaged in business in California and sell merchandise that is subject to sales or use tax. To apply for your permit, call the State Board of Equalization to request an Express Registration package. You may also apply in person at the Riverside office.
Crime Free Multiple-Family Rental Housing Program
The Crime Free Multiple-Family Rental Housing Program (CFMFRHP) is a relatively low cost crime prevention program designed to reduce criminal activity on all subject rental properties.
By establishing crime free requirements for most of the multiple-family dwelling units within the City, the owners/managers of these properties will be able to provide a higher level of safety for the residents. Such programs typically include training seminars for the property managers, and they also require that each new lease or rental agreement contains a “crime free” addendum that enables the property owner/manager to evict anyone that is engaged in criminal activity. The implementation of these provisions is enforced as part of the City’s Business License regulations, and they are generally considered to be an effective tool for reducing crime in the local community.